Goodbye, MTV Pilipinas

18 Feb

Is it really goodbye? There was a news ticker below the music videos on MTV Philippines that they are ceasing operations on February 16 and will air again someday, god knows when. What the hell happened?

I consider my generation as an MTV generation. I was in grade five (with acne and all. Oh, i don’t want to dive into the details.) when MTV was testing the airwaves on free TV. My cousin were still staying with us here in Taguig back then. I can still remember how she was soooooo obsessed with the Backstreet Boys, she was thrilled that a decent music channel can play all the recent videos. I am silently into Backstreet Boys in grade five too, but I’m trying to be cool so I liked All Saints. Bleh. 😀 I still love their song Never Ever, though.

We don’t have music channels in the past, I remember watching Aerosmith’s Crazy with Liv Tyler in a music video show in ABC 5 over and over again. There was just nothing else to watch! Runaway Train was shown all the time too. That was the late nineties my friends, and we are still watching Aerosmith and Eric Clapton. OVER and overrrrrrrr again.

MTV changed all that. I remember that when we hangout to a classmate’s house, that’s what we watch all the time. It is also one reason why I asked Mama to get cable, because MTV is grainy on free TV. I liked Mike Casem, Nadya Hutagalung, Jamie Aditya, Donita Rose and dreamed to be a VJ once too. Working behind the scenes for MTV was one of my dreams in the past.

Look, I even created a letter for MTV Most Wanted! I was supposed to ask my Lola to handcarry this to Singapore. But Papa didn’t let me because he thinks that its going to be a hassle for Lola to carry this huge box:

The glitters were already eaten by insects I guess. This letter was created when I was still in High School. I was aiming to be request of the day in MTV Most Wanted:

The glitters at the front side of this card was already eaten by insects I guess. I’ve been hearing stuff about MTV not getting sustaining profits since 2005. Maybe its because of piracy, maybe because there were just a lot of music channels sprouting on Free TV, that may have affected their business here in my country.

What’s saddening is there was no news about the demise of this channel. No updates. No future plans. They said goodbye quietly, after defining a generation of acne-clad teens during the nineties. I tried to find an article about what happened and all I’ve got is this, saying that Marc Abaya will miss being a VJ.

I’m still hoping that they will go back on air someday. I hope we are not stuck with Myx, infested with trying-to-be-cool VJs . 😦 If this is goodbye, I’ll terribly miss MTV. Thank you for the memories, for developing my love for the music, for contributing in my trying to be cool angst way back in high school.

I never get to send this card. It is still kept in our top cabinet. I’m kind of happy that I never get to send it.

Bye MTV, hope to see you airing in the Philippines again soon.

Pardon my complimentary close in the card. I was just high school back then! Okay? Okay.

Leave a Reply

